Thalassaemia Flag Day 07.27.2019

Definition of Thalassaemia

Blood and Anaemia

To understand Thalassaemia, you have to first get some ideas about what regular blood and anaemia is:

Blood consists of red blood cells, white blood cells, platelets and plasma. After a four-month life cycle, red blood cells will then, generally, breakdown and will be constantly replaced by new blood cells, which is formed from our own bone marrow. That explains why people can donate blood as frequently as they can.

Red blood cells contain haemoglobin, a red pigment, which is why our blood is red. It is very important because its function is to carry oxygen throughout the body.

Furthermore, haemoglobin also contains a lot of iron. When red blood cells are broken down, our iron is reused to form new haemoglobin. However, we still lose some iron naturally, but that is easily solved by including foods that have low iron in it.

What is anaemia?

Anaemia means that there is a reduced number of red blood cells, or a low level of haemoglobin, in the body. Out of all the different kinds of anaemia, Iron Deficiency Anaemia—which is due to insufficient iron in the diet—is the most common. Thalassaemia major is another type of anaemia that is caused by a lack of haemoglobin but it does not relate to the absorption of iron, since it is an inherited disorder.

What is Thalassaemia?

Thalassaemia is one of the most common inherited genetic blood disorders in the world, which is mostly prevalent in Mediterranean countries, the Middle East, and in Asia.

Clinically, there are two main categories of Thalassaemia - the alpha (α) and beta (β), which is then broken down to three other classifications, which are then sorted according to the degree of anaemia: the Mild Form (Thal-minor), the Moderate Form, and the Severe Form (Thal-major). Since the amount of people who have Moderate form is relatively small, we will just go ahead and discuss the Mild Form and the Severe Form.

Alpha (α) and Beta (β) Thalassaemia

In normal blood, haemoglobin is built up by two types of globin chains: the alpha (α) and the beta (β). Normally, each individual has two sets of globin genes, one from the father and the other one from the mother. However, if one or more defective gene(s) were inherited from a parent, then there would be a reduction of either the α or the β globin chains resulting in the lowering of the haemoglobin level and Thalassaemia. The above situation determines whether a person would suffer from the α or the β form.

Mild Form of Thalassaemia (Thalassaemia minor)

Thalassaemia minor means that a person inherited one defective gene, so he/she would be known as a Thalassaemia carrier. Most of the carriers have no symptoms and do not require any treatment; a few of them may be mildly anaemic. Since there are no major symptoms, the condition can only be detected through blood tests. Today, there are eight hundred seventy thousands people that are known to be Thal-carriers, meaning that 12.5% of our population is carriers.

Severe Form Thalassaemia (Thalassaemia major)

Thalassaemia major is also known as, Cooley’s Anaemia or, Mediterranean Anaemia, which is a serious form of inherited childhood anaemia. Children with Thalassaemia major cannot produce enough haemoglobin on their own and for this reason, they have to sustain their lives by having regular blood transfusions and taking doctor prescribed drugs. Since Thalassaemia is an inherited disorder, it is not contagious. Moreover, Mild Thalassaemia will not worsen and become the Severe Form. For further information, please refer to the page about precautions and heredity of Thalassaemia.

Around the world, there are hundred of thousands of newborn babies that suffer from Thalassaemia every year. In Hong Kong, there are nearly three hundred fifty patients, that affect children, teenagers, and adults.

甚麼是地中海貧血?

血與貧血

要明白地中海貧血,你需要知道一些關於正常血液和貧血的知識。

血液由紅血球、白血球、血小板和血漿所組成的。每一粒紅血球細胞只有四個月的生命期,然後它會漸漸分解。新的紅血球是由我們骨髓中不斷地製造出來。這樣的新舊紅血球交替非常頻密,所以我們能夠捐血而不影響我們的健康。

血液是紅色的,因為紅血球中含有一種叫血紅蛋白的物質。血紅蛋白非常重要,它能把氧氣從肺部送至身體各部份需要氧氣的組織。

血紅蛋白含有大量鐵質。當紅血球分解後,這些鐵質便會用來製造新的血紅蛋白。每日身體都會流失一定份量的鐵質,但這些可由食物中得到適當補充。

甚麼是貧血?

當血液中的血紅蛋白不足時-這就是貧血。貧血有很多種類。最普遍貧血就是缺乏鐵質的貧血。其主因是由於人體得不到足夠的鐵質來製造血紅蛋白。重型地中海貧血是另一種貧血,其主因是血紅蛋白不足,與鐵質吸收是完全無關的,因為重型地中海貧血是一種遺傳病。

甚麼是地中海貧血?

地中海貧血是一種血病,這種病在很多地方都有發生,尤其是在地中海的國家,中東及亞洲地區。

地中海貧血可分為兩大類,分別有甲型(α)和乙型(β)。另外亦有輕型、中型及重型地中海貧血之劃分。因患中型的比例較少,故我們解釋重點放在輕型和重型地貧。

甲型(α)和乙型(β)地貧

在血夜中,紅血球內的正常血紅蛋白成份是由兩類的珠蛋白鏈組成,稱之為珠蛋白鏈和珠蛋白鏈。正常的情況下,每一個人會擁有兩組正常的血紅蛋白基因;一組來自父親,另一組來自母親。如果從父母處遺傳了一個或多個不正常的基因,珠蛋白鏈或珠蛋白鏈的製造會減少,引致地貧出現。決定一個人是有甲型(α)或乙型(β)的地貧便視乎以上的遺傳情況。

輕型地中海貧血

輕型地中海貧血是指患者的身體攜有地貧的基因,所以又叫做地貧基因攜帶者。大部份地貧基因攜帶者是沒有任何病徵及不需要接受治療。只有少部份人有輕微貧血。若非經過驗血,大多數地貧基因攜帶者都不會知道自己帶有這種遺傳基因。估計香港現時有55萬人是地貧基因攜帶者,約佔總人口8.5%。

重型地中海貧

重型地中海貧血亦稱地中海貧血或庫利氏貧血。這是一種非常嚴重的血病,病發於幼童期。患有此類型地中海貧血病兒童,其身體內不能製造足夠的血紅蛋白,他們需要終生定期的輸血和接受藥物治療。重型地中海貧血一定由父母遺傳,它是不會傳染的。另外有輕型地貧的人亦絕對不會日後變為重型,詳情請看重型地中海貧血的遺傳和預防。

每年,世界上有十萬個患有重型地中海貧血症的兒童出生。香港現時約有四百名病患者,包括孩童、青年和成人。