Thalassaemia Flag Day 07.27.2019

Complications of Thalassaemia

Iron Built-up

Constant blood transfusion results in iron built-up and ends up damaging different parts of the body, which includes the heart, the liver, the pancreas, and the secretory organs. Patients may have heart failure, cirrhosis, liver dysfunction, and diabetes as well as suffering from poor growth due to several endocrine disorders.

Unpleasant Responses from Blood Transfusion

Unpleasant responses from blood transfusions include fevers, rigor, erythema, and etc. Some much more serious illnesses do occur, such as acute haemolysis, contraction of the trachea, and hypotension, but these have less of a chance to develop but that does not mean that we should ignore them.

Infection from Blood Transfusions

Viral diseases are one of the more major infective illnesses from blood transfusions. Although a lot of preventive actions are taken to reduce the chances of patients getting infected, there are still a few cases of catching hepatitis B and C. Fortunately; it is rare to catch AIDS from that. Out of all the viruses listed, only hepatitis B can be prevented through vaccination.

Enlarged Spleen

Under chronic stimulation of anaemia and haemolysis, a number of patients have been shown to have enlarged spleens, which act to worsen their conditions. Thus, they may have to transfuse more blood, which in turn results in worst iron built-up. Resection of an enlarged spleen can improve this kind of situation.

Formation of Gallstone

Constant haemolysis makes the patient likely to have gallstones with epigastric pain, yellowed skin along with yellowed eyes where it should be white, and tea-coloured urine.

Side Effect of Desferal

Taking Desferal may also affect eyesight, hearing, and growth of the bones. As a result, the proportion of Desferal taken should be decided by doctors, but not the patients themselves.

愛心賣旗日 01.13.2018 Thalassaemia Flag Day

地中海貧血的併發症

重型地中海貧血的併發症


過量鐵質積聚

長期輸血會造成鐵質沉積而過量鐵質的積聚會對多個器官造成破壞。主要受影響的包括心臟、肝臟、胰臟和各個內分泌器官。病者會出現心臟衰竭、肝硬化、肝功能衰退、糖尿以及因為多種內分泌失調而變得身材矮小和發育不全等等。

輸血引起的反應

經輸血而傳染的主要是過濾性病毒疾病。雖然在輸血整個過程中,多重的預防措施已把傳染的機會減至極少,偶然亦有因輸血而感染丙型和乙型肝炎的例子。至於愛滋病毒的傳染,可說是極為罕見。以上三種病毒中,只有乙型肝炎可以靠有效的疫苗預防。

經輸血面傳染的疾病

在長期貧血和溶血的刺激下,不少重型和中型貧血病者都會出現脾臟發大的問題。過大脾臟會使貧血加劇和令病者需要接受更大量的輸血而導致更嚴重的鐵質積聚。及時把發大的脾臟切除往往能令情況改善。

脾臟發大

在長期貧血和溶血的刺激下,不少重型和中型貧血病者都會出現脾臟發大的問題。過大脾臟會使貧血加劇和令病者需要接受更大量的輸血而導致更嚴重的鐵質積聚。及時把發大的脾臟切除往往能令情況改善。

膽石的形成

長期溶血令地中海貧血病人比一般人更容易患膽石。患有膽石的病人可能經常出現右上腹痛、皮膚、眼白變黃和茶色小便等的病徵。

除鐵藥的副作用

值得一提的,除鐵藥有時亦會影響視力、聽覺和骨骼生長。因此,除鐵藥物的注射份量應根據鐵質積聚的多少而定,切勿擅自把份量增加或減少。