Thalassaemia Flag Day 07.27.2019

Daily Precautions For the Patient

Thalassaemia patients can live normal lives just as any other person without Thalassaemia; there should not be any kind of special restrictions set for them from other people who are not affected. However, Thalassaemia patients should know that:

Proper Prescription

Some medicine, including Chinese medicines, Western medicines and over-the-counter medication may actually worsen the haemolysis in Moderate and Severe Form patients. They contract more serious forms of anaemia and jaundice. Therefore, Moderate and Severe Form patients must inform their registered medical practitioners their situation and receive proper prescriptions instead of taking drugs through other methods.

Additionally, some vitamin pills and blood tonics contain iron, so the patients should be wary when taking these kinds of medications.

Balanced Diets

Usually patients are suggested to maintain a well balanced diet instead of taking blood tonics. Having a well balanced diet for patients mean that they should avoid consuming products with particularly high levels in iron, such as liver, steak, spinach, and apples.

Optimum Amounts of Exercise

It is critical for patients to have any form of exercising in their lives. Parents should not keep their children from sports due to their worries, but in fact, should encourage more activity. Patients, however, should decide on how much exercise they can tolerate and take a rest when they feel tired. Exercise benefits the patient by making them stronger, especially Thalassaemia major patients, whom should not be weak when undergoing blood transfusions. However, if the patient is plausible to suffer heart failure and other complications, they should take care to avoid high impact sports.

Physicians Are There to Help

For patients with Thalassaemia, it is inevitable that they will suffer pain whether it is long-term or short-term pain. Many methods used to levitate the disease including the resection of the spleen, weakens a patient’s resistance, causing other problems such as high fevers. In this case, it is very important that the patient go see their doctors to make sure that their situation does not worsen.

鐵人精神 關注地貧

地中海貧血病人日常生活需知

其實輕型地中海貧血人士的身體健康在日常生活中基本上與正常人沒甚麼分別,既沒特別要避忌的東西,亦無需進食「補血」的藥物或食物。相反,重型及中型貧血患者對以下的問題宜加以留意。

不要亂吃藥物

不少藥物,包括中藥、西藥及坊間成藥都會對中、重型貧血患者溶血情況加劇,出現更嚴重的貧血和黃疸現象。因此當感到不適時,應找註冊醫生,說明本身是中、重型貧血患者,索取適當的藥物,切忌亂吃中藥或西藥。

此外,由於不少所謂多種維他命或「補血」藥都可能含有鐵質,地中海貧血病人亦不宜進食此類藥物以避免過量吸收鐵質。

保持均衡飲食

一般來說,地中海貧血病人只需有均衡飲食,不需特別進食所謂「補血」食物。反之,一些含鐵質量高食物如肝臟、牛扒、菠菜、蘋果等,應適量而不宜過量進食。

保持適量運動

適量的運動是保持健康所必須的,家長們不應擔心貧血會令病人體弱而限制他們的運動量。其實,運動量的多少,病人會因應本身的體能而自我調節,當感到疲倦時便會自動休息。再者,在定期輸血的治療下,重型貧血病者的體能不應特別虛弱。然而當併發症如心臟衰竭形成的時候,病人便應避免劇烈的運動。

病向淺中醫

切除了脾臟的患者,由於對細菌的抵抗力減弱,遇上發熱不適時,應盡快看醫生,以免病情惡化。